Foundation: Benefit’s “Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow”

What: Foundation

From: Benefit Cosmetics, Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow

Shade: (I’m all the rage) Beige

Hello you!

Continuing with Benefit foundation for this post, next up is first foundation that I bought after seeking out advice from the Benefit saleslady with regards to colour matching to my skin. I don’t remember buying this particular foundation for any reason apart from there being a store close to where I live. (This is where I also first picked up the boi-ing concealer at the same time as the foundation after being colour matched).

This foundation has a pump, which is always great as I do prefer the pumps to a squeeze tube. The texture is quite light and liquidy. I would say it’s thicker and gives more coverage than you’d expect from the viscosity alone. Lately, I’ve been tending to use my fingers for foundation, but with this one I need to have a buffing brush to make sure it’s spread out evenly and I always need to wash my hands before picking up my brush.

There is SPF 25 with this, which is a positive of this product. I do try to wear SPF underneath anyway, but any extra SPF is perfect, or even on lazy days when I am too lazy to layer up.

As you can tell from the photo,  I am nearly done with this product, but I will say that this foundation level has stayed at the 90% completion rate for a long long time. Recently I decided to go back to it, as it’s got a higher SPF and it is summer now. Initially I did wonder why I stopped using it, as the initial coverage is great, it’s thick but it does brighten and create a good base. However, soon after I realised why I had stopped using this for other foundations.

Not only is it quite thicker than I would like (perhaps due to the SPF?), during the day somehow the product really breaks up and becomes really patchy. You can tell the areas where the oil has completely broken up the foundation and the areas that are in the process of it. I know that no one is bound to get super up close and personal to my face area to see the actual details, but I don’t actually think you have to be super close to see what’s going on. I’m used to being oily and the effect this has in breaking down products and becoming shiny after a while, but I don’t remember the product breakdown being as obvious with other foundations. I’ll continue to use this until completion but after these two not so positive experiences with Benefit’s foundations, I think I might give foundations a rest for a while from them.

 

Positives: Good initial coverage, SPF 25, pump/packaging

Negatives: Breaks down in a patchy and too obvious manner, heavy product (despite liquidy texture) that transfers

Leave a Reply

