Real Techniques: Bold Metal Collection First Impressions Review

I said I’d write more on these so after a week or of trying out these good looking brushes here’s my first impressions.

So here’s the collection (well at least the brushes that I have), and I apologise that they are a bit dirty…but it’s proof that I used them eh? The thing I want to say about all these brushes is that they look pretty and luxurious and they do photograph well. However, what sort of surprised me was that they feel a lot less ‘expensive’ than I had imagined (and after looking at so many photos). It makes me feel better that I snagged them on sale and didn’t buy them full priced like I was originally thinking to do.

image

100: Arched Power Brush

 

image

“The domed cut sweeps perfectly across the face for flawless application of pressed or loose powders”

I used this brush with a finishing powder and also blush. I like the shape but I don’t think that it’s anything special. It distributes the powder for a light finish and was exactly what I was missing in my brush collection. It’s great for the 6pounds or so I paid for it but for 25? No way. At least not in my eyes. Don’t get me wrong, I still like it and all but I’m trying to be objective for the amount that I paid for it.

image

301: Flat Contour

image

“A dense head creates shadows and highlights on targeted areas of face to play up favourite features”

This was the brush that I wanted right from the beginning for contour/bronzer. The shape reminded me of the Nars “Ita” brush and I thought it would be a fool proof way to make sure I place contour in the right place. I’ve been using this brush with my Too Faced Chocolate Soleil bronzer and I’ve been loving it. It’s a fairly dense brush head that placed the product where I want it and also allows for blending. For the 5pounds or so, down from 22 I feel like it’s definitely a winner!

image

200: Oval Shadow

“Densely packed, tapered bristles apply eye shadow for a smokey effect”

This brush is a bit too big to apply a base eye shadow given that it’s larger than my eye. For that reason, it wouldn’t be my go to brush for base eye shadow as I prefer a flatter brush head. This is good for blending out the crease and would also be small enough to powder and set under eye concealer. At 15pounds, I snagged this for about 3.

image

201: Pointed Crease

“The full, round shape allows for all-over lid application and seamless blending”

I’ve been using this for a crease brush and packing on product to the outer corner. I do like the brush since I have to put on eye shadow fairly precisely due to my hooded eyes. It’s a dense brush so it does pack on the product but isn’t what I’d use to blend out. I love this to define my crease and do pack on darker eye shadow on the outer corner. It’s precise enough and I feel will be my go brush. It was between 2 or 3 pounds down from 12 pounds and for that, simply amazing.

image

202: Angled Liner

“The firm, slanted head fits close to lash line for smooth, even application of eye liner”

This has got to be my favourite brush which is actually quite surprising, given that I was nearly going to pass on this one. I only picked it up because I thought at 2pounds, what was the worst that could happen right? The reason why I love this brush is because it’s absolutely perfect for the liner. I’ve used it with eye shadow to line my eyes and it’s so precise and hugs my lash line so closely which is perfect for my hooded eyes. This is 10pounds at full price and honestly, I would probably buy this at full price for the amount because I love it.

image

 

 

4 thoughts on “Real Techniques: Bold Metal Collection First Impressions Review

  1. Pingback: Space NK haul – BeautyWithMei

    1. I tried to find some more in Boots on sale but I couldn’t find anymore. So glad I was in the right place and snapped them up quickly! They photograph SO well, but even the ‘normal’ line is so good quality too, I love them all!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: What I like to watch: YouTube Beauty Channels – BeautyWithMei

Leave a Reply

